PDA

View Full Version : Profile of a typical long term cruiser?

beancounter
14-12-07, 09:49
From reading various blogs and websites, plus postings on here, it seems to me that long term cruisers exhibit some or all of the following characteristics (in no particular order):

a) Have been sailing since they were knee-high to a pint pot.

b) Be naturally adept at, and positively enjoy, fixing & fettling things.

c) Have been self-employed or run their own business.

d) Have nursed a long-term ambition to head off into the blue.

e) Be independent in outlook & self-reliant.

and, errm..

f) Be on a second (or subsequent) marriage or relationship. (or none at all)

Yes, I know that "all generalisations are wrong" ( /forums/images/graemlins/ooo.gif)

Have I missed any?...

p.s. - not a 100% serious post....

cozzykim
14-12-07, 10:18
Well, we're not long term or liveaboard yet but:

a) Dad bought his 1st boat, a Sailfish 18 in the 60s
b) I'm an engineer and can't not fix things (ocd?)
c) Yes, both
d) Yes (so don't try to put me off) /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
e) Yes (so it's not worth trying to put me off) /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
f) Contemplating 3rd marriage (maybe you should try to put me off this one) /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

I seem to fit the profile, how encouraging.

Jonny_H
14-12-07, 10:25
We're setting off in July:

a) Have been sailing since they were knee-high to a pint pot - me since I was 8 and the wife since she was born

b) Be naturally adept at, and positively enjoy, fixing & fettling things - I quite enjoy the satisfaction of fixing things and am happy to have a go at most jobs

c) Have been self-employed or run their own business - afraid not (accountant working for a big firm and teacher respectively)

d) Have nursed a long-term ambition to head off into the blue - certainly have

e) Be independent in outlook & self-reliant - that rings true

and, errm..