PDA

View Full Version : Potential import problems with Jersey Registered Yacht in Greece

philip17
03-07-11, 19:02
I have recently changed my yacht registration from SSR on UK Register to Part 1 on Jersey Register. The reasons for transfering to Part 1 was to have a world accepted registration documentation which proves ownership and the reason for Jersey was to keep the name of the boat and 10 year renewal.
I wintered in Greece and cleared out in Simi for Turkey 2 months ago - no problem with new registration. I am now looking to clear back into Greece but have been alerted by a post on noonsite that CI registered boats are not accepted as EU registered and require a transit log and temporary importation. This in itself would not be a great inconvenience apart from the fact that if you are a EU resident (which I am) then the TI will be for 1 month only!!!! not 18 months if I was a non-EU resident. I think I can understand the reasoning behind this regulation if I was trying to import the yacht without paying VAT but in my case VAT has already been paid in Sweden when I purchased the boat.
I have searched for information regarding the position of a EU VAT paid boat owned by a EU resident but flagged in a non-EU country but cannot find any help. Can anyone shine some light on this conundrum?
As I intend to winter in Greece again this year it looks like I might have to cancel my Jersey Registration and re-register on UK SSR but even that does not look so simple as it appears that you cannot re-apply online if you have been previously registered (I have emailed MCA for advice on how I can re-register on SSR but I do not expect an early response so again any advice would be greatly appreciated

Tranona
03-07-11, 20:51