midnightstardawn
new user
Reged: 14/04/2005
Posts: 1
|
|
Trying to stop friend buying suspect boat. Can anybody advise?
Any feedback welcome. Ebay item number: 5573011099
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?V...A%3AIT&rd=1
Thanks
M
|
ballena
regular
Reged: 30/12/2002
Posts: 299
Loc: Southsea Marina, Portsmouth, U...
|
|
Does not mention the shipping cost and judging by the registration marks on the side and the style of house it looks like its in the USA. Looks extremely suspect to me.
-------------------- V8's rule!
|
cliff
regular
Reged: 15/04/2004
Posts: 5879
Loc: various
|
|
Certainly sounds suspicous but I have sent an email:
I am interested in the boat you have advertised however along the lines of:
Quote:
1) Do you have the original VAT receipt? (proof of VAT paid) 2) Where has she been used? (Salt water or Fresh water) 3) Any survey report? (necessary for insurance purposes) 4) Where in the UK is she lying at the moment.? 5) Would it be possible to view the boat before bidding/buying? 6) Are you the first owner? Regards
If the owner answers then maybe kosher if no reply then definitely a con IMHO.
I will post again here if I receive a reply. ----------
|
fatipa
regular
Reged: 11/11/2001
Posts: 2587
|
|
I'm currently looking for an Iridium phone which is a moderately high value popular item on eBay. There have been a spate of auctions (which I've reported to eBay and had pulled) where somehow the seller has aquired feedback for what is really a new eBay ID created for fraudulent use. The Iridium phone is listed at a really attractive price but in fact despitee the photos (cribbed from legitimate auctions) doesn't exist at all. The common factor has been that the seller only accepts Western Union money transfers which I understand is riddled with security (lack of) problems.
Yesterday I sent a question on a technical issue to someone offering a different design (a Sailor model) of Iridium 'phone which I was keen to bid on. I received a reply this morning from the legitimate owner of the eBay ID informing me he wasn't selling the 'phone and my question was the first he knew about it. He has reported it to eBay and I notice the auction has been pulled.
Although I've used eBay quite a bit, I'm finding it is getting a lot dodgier now and possibly will start declining in popularity due to a lack of trust. As far as this boat goes, I have no idea about it but the decal on the bow (as someone else has pointed out) does look suspiciously USA as does the "tone" of the text in the description. I wonder if the Boat exists at all in the UK and the idea is for a fraudulent seller to ask the succesful buyer for an immediate deposit when the auction closes - and then to simply disappear. On the other hand it maybe absolutely genuine.
Cheers, Brian.
|
capricorn
regular
Reged: 26/07/2004
Posts: 296
|
|
Auction looks pretty dodgy to me too. Agree with the US style lettering on the bow. Also the house in the last pic doesn't look like a UK house and the Honda CRV in the background has no front plate and I think is LHD.
Seller has no knowledge of what he's selling apart from "THIS RUNS 100% AND THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT". I don't think I'd describe my boat in this way. No location. How the hell can you deliver a trailored sports boat "worldwide" ? English is terrible, numerous spelling and grammar errors.
Dodgy Iridium phone auction you mention sounds like Ebay ID theft. I believe they either steal accounts using some automatic password generating tool (best to have a very "strong" password for any system that can be accessed via web, certainly not the name of your wife/child/boat etc) or by one of those mails inviting you to log into a spoof ebay site with your account/password. Also agood idea to use a different password for Ebay and PAypal accounts.
Edited by capricorn (15/04/2005 15:27)
|
steve_clayton
regular
Reged: 22/05/2003
Posts: 2527
Loc: king; I did RAF training there
|
|
Well, someone is bidding on it! I've sent the reference no to e-bay security for validation. Got this reply
Thank you for writing to eBay's Trust and Safety department about a current listing you would like us to investigate for potentially fraudulent activity. We are concerned about this type of activity and want to assure you that we will review your report as soon as possible, usually within 24 hours.
Due to privacy concerns, we cannot discuss our investigation. You will
receive only this acknowledgement of the receipt of your report. Please
be assured, however, that we will thoroughly review the situation.
Watching with interest!!
www.seraph-apartments.com
-------------------- Much work still remains to be done before I can announce my total failure to make any progress
www.seraph-sailing.com
|
George_Sea
regular
Reged: 02/05/2004
Posts: 52
Loc: : Chippenham - Boat On Trailer
|
|
Definately dodgey Expanding on earlier post Position of wiper blades and possibly even angle of wing mirrors suggests that Honda CRV is left hand drive non UK
-------------------- Carry the Card - Transplants Save Lives
|
BrendanS
regular
Reged: 11/06/2002
Posts: 39136
Loc: Me: Wilts. Boat: Lymington
|
|
listing has been removed
-------------------- See http://www.frappr.com/ybw to add yourself to the forum map
and as everyone else is doing it
www.plaintalkconsulting.co.uk
|
steve_clayton
regular
Reged: 22/05/2003
Posts: 2527
Loc: king; I did RAF training there
|
|
Bl**dy good job too!
First time I've ever reported a potential fraudulent sale on E-bay. Truth and justice shall prevail!!! - time for another Bacardi & Coke in the sun!
For future reference the guy's email handle used on that sale was WORDENLIX@YAHOO.CO.UK
-------------------- Much work still remains to be done before I can announce my total failure to make any progress
www.seraph-sailing.com
|