Thistle
regular
Reged: 02/10/2004
Posts: 674
Loc: Forth estuary
|
|
Is the presence of spyware (2o7) intentional on the forums? There seems to be a major infestation this evening. If it stays I wonder how many will, like me, consider not visiting the forums in future?
|
BrendanS
regular
Reged: 11/06/2002
Posts: 37104
Loc: Me: Wilts. Boat: Lymington
|
|
where and what spyware? No sign of it here, and highly unlikely to be honest.
-------------------- See http://www.frappr.com/ybw to add yourself to the forum map
and as everyone else is doing it
www.plaintalkconsulting.co.uk
|
Thistle
regular
Reged: 02/10/2004
Posts: 674
Loc: Forth estuary
|
|
My antivirus etc program (Panda) reports a cookie "doubleclick" from the front page and cookies "2o7" from every other page of the forums. Just seems to have started earlier this evening.
|
BrendanS
regular
Reged: 11/06/2002
Posts: 37104
Loc: Me: Wilts. Boat: Lymington
|
|
That's a cookie, not spyware. If you are concerned about it, just block it in your hosts file.
I wonder if it's connected with the forum slowdown that many are commenting on.
-------------------- See http://www.frappr.com/ybw to add yourself to the forum map
and as everyone else is doing it
www.plaintalkconsulting.co.uk
|
lescargot
regular
Reged: 16/05/2001
Posts: 5332
Loc: Isle of Wight
|
|
It looks like they may've changed companies, it used to be the "doubleclick" cookie, but I don't seem to be getting that now.
-------------------- Warning - Internet forums may contain nuts
|
Thistle
regular
Reged: 02/10/2004
Posts: 674
Loc: Forth estuary
|
|
It's reported by Panda as "Spyware neutralized! Spyware has been detected and eliminated."
What's my hosts file? How do I block things in it? What does this mean / do?
|
BrendanS
regular
Reged: 11/06/2002
Posts: 37104
Loc: Me: Wilts. Boat: Lymington
|
|
Panda is somewhat over reacting then, as it's simply a cookie.
You can see instructions on how to edit a host file in XP here http://www.kickenhardware.net/forum/showthread.php?t=3006
Simply add the following 127.0.0.1 2o7.net
and 2o7 cookies will be blocked from 'phoning home'
-------------------- See http://www.frappr.com/ybw to add yourself to the forum map
and as everyone else is doing it
www.plaintalkconsulting.co.uk
|
Thistle
regular
Reged: 02/10/2004
Posts: 674
Loc: Forth estuary
|
|
Brendan
Many thanks. I'll give that a try.
Ian
|
petem
regular
Reged: 16/05/2001
Posts: 2785
Loc: ation, Loc: ation, Loc: ation.
|
|
Why would you want to block it? Surely it's just used for ad serving.
Pete
-------------------- The Fairline Owners Club - Over 2000 Fairline owners already registered.
Add your Motor Boating links here.
|
BrendanS
regular
Reged: 11/06/2002
Posts: 37104
Loc: Me: Wilts. Boat: Lymington
|
|
Monitoring site usage rather than ad serving is normal role of 2o7
-------------------- See http://www.frappr.com/ybw to add yourself to the forum map
and as everyone else is doing it
www.plaintalkconsulting.co.uk
|