Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default anchoring at sea

It's probably a really daft question but I'm pretty new to boating, so please bear with me.

I have a small boat and am wondering about using the anchor while out at sea. How does it work in terms of depth? If I throw the anchor over and I'm in sea which is deeper than my anchor rope is, is there anything I can/should do? Is there any sense in it dangling there? Should I just get a longer rope? I've done this in a rib on my PB level 1 course, but I assume the instructor knew the depths etc. Whereas if I go somewhere I'm unsure about, what do I do if I'm in really deep water?

Thanks for your help on this.

For info I have a small 5.5 meter powerboat with a grappling anchor attached to an anchor chain and anchor rope bought from the people who supplied the boat. I've no idea how long the rope is though!

Thanks

blueglass is offline Registered User

Default Re: anchoring at sea

you need anchor line about 4 times the depth of the water. An anchor dangling over the side and not reaching the bottom is clearly not going to work. as regards anchoring in really deep water - you don't really want to be doing that. You will want to anchor inshore in sheltered water.
    Genuine Antique 17th - 19th century Sea Charts at www.lindisfarneprints.com

Looks like you need a bit of training. RYA powerboat 2 books are available, most of this stuff is in there. BAsically you'll need at least 3 time the depth in rope/chain.

Grapling anchors are great for scaling castle walls, not much good for anchoring. Danforth or similar is a good cheap solution, you can get them in a kit with chain and rope at the chandlers.

sarabande is online now Registered User

you can use a form of anchor, but they are known as sea anchors, or drogues.

All they do is slow the boat's drift down, by sitting deep in the water (which may be going in a different direction from the wind, under the influence of tidal streams.