Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Round the Mull for the first time!?

Hi all, I am positioning my Moody29 to Oban next week with the help of 2 crew.
    I was planning to go via the Crinan Canal as this is my first time away from the Clyde.
    Looking at the weather forecast it looks pretty settled with max force 4 from East.
    So I am considering going round the Mull of Kintyre instead.
    Plan would be Largs - Sanda Monday.
    Early start for the easterly tide Tuesday round Mull and long sail all the way to Ardfern (although options to stop off at Craighouse)
    Then Ardfern or Craighouse to Oban Wednesday with tide.
    Has any body any advice, are the timings realistic?
    Previouse posts on here have mentioned staying very close in around the Mull, is that best and why?
    Oh are there visitors buoys at Sanda and if not whats it like for anchoring in Easterly.
    Thanks

Sgeir is offline Registered User
    Location : Loch Linnhe in the summer - Dallens Bay, Appin. Ashore at MRC, Loch Creran for this winter.

Default Re: Round the Mull for the first time!?

Sounds like a good plan,

Sanda is OK for anchoring, and there is an eddy that can help carry you round close to the Mull - cannot remember, but this may be shown on the UKHO tidal streams; it is certainly mentioned in the CCC Sailing Directions. Surprisingly, we've found that the inner passage to be relatively unturbulent (if such a word exists).

Once round the Mull, the passage to the north seems to take forever.

Haven't been to Sanda for a couple of years, but don't recall visitor buoys, although there is one (the island's owner's?) in the main bay which I've seen visitors use. The main bay is handy for the "Byron Darnton" pub, but, depending on conditions, there is another anchorage to the east of the lighthouse on the south side.
    Ω