Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unhappy Complete loss of power

Hi, I am new to sailing and I am looking for some advice. I have a 50% share in a 25ft yacht (1978).

The original (inboard) yanmar 8hp diesel engine is only able to propel the boat at about 0.5 knots. We got the boat in February and at first we could do 4 - 5 knots under power no problem.

Today we struggled for 20 minutes to beat a 14mph wind to get back on to our mooring. We were getting blown backwards (slowly) at one point!

There is also a fair bit of white smoke after about 10 minutes of running the engine. We have discovered about 10% water in the fuel filter. Would water in fuel cause the boat to run at 0.5 knots?

Other checks we have done so far:
    * oil seems ok, it's black - no milky residue.
    * raw water inlet not blocked
    * water coming from raw water exit (although not lots)

I am hoping to rule out a problem with the cylinder head gasket Is it possible that our problem could be caused by water in the fuel?

Your thoughts please?

Default fuel

It is not likely to be water in the diesel as that is what your water trap is for but if you allowed the water to get up to the filter you may have blocked it.
    So try getting a new fuel filter as that would give you this kind of problem.

Assuming that the engine is achieving the same revs as you used to get.......maybe a scrub-off is needed......especially the prop?
    Water in the diesel will not be helping........I would drain the tank and save as much of the diesel as you can.
    It might also be a good idea to fit a diesel water separator......

LittleShip is offline Registered User

Do you have a feathering prop, it maybe stuck ??

Tom

oldsaltoz is offline Registered User

Exclamation

White smoke can be an indication of unburned fuel, check the air intake filter (if fitted) is clean, some have a fine wire mesh that need degreasing and flushing from time to time.