Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Cost of maintenance of 27ft vs 32ft boat

Hi,

I'm currently looking at buying my first sail boat. I've been looking at boats around 27-29 feet, but have found one that would fit the bill quite nicely, "problem" is it's 32ft.

As I have no previous experience, I'm struggling to find out how much more expensive it would be to maintain, compared to a 27ft one. Other than the price of a mooring, I'm looking at just a bit more, or something closer to 2 times the cost?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Other than a slight increase in mooring and insurance costs I think you will find the biggest difference is all down to the condition of the boats concerned. A mint 32 could cost a lot less than a poor 27 footer to maintain. Those extra 5 feet will take you, ooh 10 minutes with a roller to antifoul each year.

Pete
    Moody 31

Boreades is online now Registered User

can you tell us any more about the type of boat? Just like cars, some boats are cheaper to buy, but more expensive to maintain (and visa versa)

I went from a 27' to a 33' - I've found that extra time(and ) is needed for antifouling, but apart from that, not a great deal as I have my own mooring. Varnish work is about the same and the only extra expense I forsee will be things like standing rigging renewal. As I do nearly all the work on it myself there is not a lot of difference except more time required but as I'm retired that's not a problem! Interestingly my 27'er had full instrumentation and initially I thought I would miss them but I don't - I just have a basic GPS, log & depth(both some times working....). I also don't miss all the halyards led to the cockpit but again I don't, even though I have to go to the mast to hoist sails and reef.
    Also don't forget the cost of upgrades like new sails etc - probably 50% more.
    I'm really glad I went for a bigger boat, it has much more room and comfort. Go for it!

Default Not By Much