Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    pcatterall is offline Registered User

Default Trailer advice, 2 or 4 wheels

To tow a boat up to 23 feet and 1.5 tonnes. I have seen both offered with boats of this size. My instinct is that 2 wheels would be easier to manouver but I have no experience.
    What are the pros and cons please?

VicS is offline Registered User

Manoeuvring a twin axle trailer with the towing vehicle is no problem although the tyres can scrub a bit.

Manhandling the empty trailer is best done by winding the jockey wheel down until the front wheels are off the ground then it's no worse than a single axle trailer.

Possible to tip a single axle trailer over backwards if you climb on board without some support under the back end.

Four wheels, tyres, hubs, brakes suspension units to worry about with a four wheel trailer. Only two with a two wheel trailer but bigger and more expensive.

Actually a bit surprised that at that weight 2 wheels is an option but not looked at trailer specs for a long time.

Don't scrimp on trailer capacity. Be generous with the trailer spec. The boat will most likely be quite a bit heavier than the makers displacement figure

AFAIK the maximum capacity axle you can buy is 1500 kg, so with the weight of the trailer itself (probably 150 - 250kg) you will be over the axle capacity.

pcatterall is offline Registered User

Thanks for that new info. I was actually refering to an all up weight of 1500kg, IE a trailer plated to that weight.

MrCramp is offline Registered User

Agree with VicS's comments.

Look at Indespension web site for info
    http://www.indespension.co.uk/b2c/ap...ANO=640&slnk=1

The Roller Coaster 8 has GVW of 1,500kg and will carry a boat weighing up to 1,050kg.

The biggest single axle is the RC 10 GVW 1,800kg, max boat weight 1,300kg.

I would want to check carefully that a 23ft boat and contents don't go over the 1,050 capacity of the trailer max GVW 1,500kg.