xeitosaphil is offline Registered User

Default 2GM20 Exhaust Elbow

It has been suggested in the past on this Forum that the exhaust elbow on Yanmar 2GM20 engines should be removed and checked for erosion once a year, and as I have the engine out at present (to replace the engine mounts and engine bearers) do you think it would be a good idea to take it off and check it?

There is no evidence of water leakage at the moment and it works fine, the bolts do look quite rusty and are solid, they could possibly shear off on trying to undo, but this would be accessible at present, if I encountered any problems.

Not so in the future, it could be quite difficult to replace once the engine is re- installed.

Question: Should I not look for trouble and leave well alone as there is no present problem, or should I check and maybe encounter problems but which would be easier to sort out now rather than later?

What would the experienced do?

I am not experienced with inboard engines as this is my first inboard set up and I am endeavoring to get it all right prior to re-installing it.

I have already had the Injectors serviced, and replaced the Thermostat, Oil and Temperature Senders, all the Fuel hoses and s/s clips and intend to fully service the engine buy replacing all the Fuel filters and Oil filters, also replacing the Water Pump Impellor, and changing the Engine and Gearbox oil and Filters as a matter of precaution as I am unaware of its Service History?

My experience to date is with a fin Hurley 22 which had an outboard which I had for 10 years. I have now moved up to a 1974 Hurley 30 which is a whole new ball game and it appears I have a lot to learn about lots of things!!

Any advise welcome.

(Sorry its a long thread)

If you've got the engine out it is a simple job to remove the elbow and I would certainly check it. It's a lot easier than when the engine is in place.

awol is online now Registered User