Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
    RobHom is offline Registered User

Default Any members here with Perkins 6.354's??

I have a "Gulfstar 44' Trawler" with two 6.354's and I have a few questions I would like to ask of someone on your side of the pond regarding these engines...

Thanks!!

Rob

What do you want to know about these motors?

I've been running and maintaining a pair for 8 years.

yep..run apair(175hp)
    best engine ever built.....

Andrew_Fanner is offline Registered User

2 x flat 145s. Huge, solid, proof, so far, against my ineptitude.
    Two beers please, my friend is paying.

Ah good, I am happy to see that there are other Perkins 6.354 owners here...

I have some questions, and while I may not remember them all at once, I hope you won't mind my asking and hopefully you will share your knowledge with me.

The engines in my boat are vintage 1977 according to the serial numbers and they are "naturals" without turbo's.... Both engines run well, and I have had to do little other than maintenance on them... Well, that is beyond the fact that I had to replace both wet manifolds and wet elbows since none were available in North America...and purportedly they are no longer manufactured by Perkins.... I had the new ones custom made out of stainless steel....

My first question is: Do you and have you always stayed with single weight diesel grade motor oil? Do you use a particular brand over another for particular reasons?

Second: I have done some reading and it would seem that conventional wisdom indicates that it is not a wise thing to use a synthetic oil in this engines, do you agree?

Sorry it took me this long to get back.... My current position requires a lot of travel and I can't always get on line....

Thanks,

Rob

i use the old style minreal oil's.
    i get it from a local tractor place near to were i am.
    glad to here yet another vintage old perkin's engine is still going strong..
    and mine are 1972...