Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    robmcg is online now Registered User

Default Endurance 37 -Any good?

I was asked what I thought about the Endurance 37, but I have no experience of them. I know that many are ferrocement but what are they like for longer distance work, sailability, living with on a day to day basis etc. Anyone got one? Pants or worth a look?

Rob
    Anyone seen Grabthar's hammer?

37s would be GRP versions of the 35. Similar characteristics - behave like they look. Heavy, steady, lots of string as most are ketch. Perfect if you like long slow passages while wearing carpet slippers. Inevitably variable layouts and fitouts because most were at least part home completed.

I have sailed on a Ferro Cement Endurance although I cant remember the LOA accurately. They were big and roomy, needed a blow to get them going.

It operated as a skippered charter and she had 3 cabins down from the saloon. The storage space below the saloon was cevernous.

The deck area was excellent for lounging on and made a good platform for guests to relax on too.

I would not buy one as there are other boats that are similar and better. However, it was a useful yacht that was pleasant to sail on and nice and roomy. The only awkward bit was the stern where you could steer outside in a rather small cockpit.
    Having time is unavoidable.

The windboats endurance 37's are excellent boats, put together very well, I dont know of any that were home completed, not from windboats anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by ccscott49 View Post
    The windboats endurance 37's are excellent boats, put together very well, I dont know of any that were home completed, not from windboats anyway.
    I thought that Windboats mostly built hulls for others to fit out. I certainly know of 3 that were home completed. The quality of fit out depends on the skill of the owner, the ones I know of were excellent quality, but did take about 10 years to finish.