Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Compulsory training for boaters

Has this one it reared its ugly head again? I remember some time ago that there were plans to implement some kind of formal qualification before the absolute beginner can take to boating, then it all went quiet. I had an interesting conversation today which leaves me wondering whether things are on the move again, if this guy is right we could see legislation by 2014.
    I havent heard anything recently to support it, has anyone else?

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by boatmaster View Post
    Has this one it reared its ugly head again? I remember some time ago that there were plans to implement some kind of formal qualification before the absolute beginner can take to boating, then it all went quiet. I had an interesting conversation today which leaves me wondering whether things are on the move again, if this guy is right we could see legislation by 2014.
    I havent heard anything recently to support it, has anyone else?
    AAARRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHH. Make it stop!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Doghousekeeper View Post
    AAARRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHH. Make it stop!!!!!!!!!!!
    Indeed!, but i can well see it happening, even if not so soon. I'm not entirely against it, i think that if the syllabus were appropriate, the average beginner will have the steep learning curve somewhat lowered and maybe it could be beneficial to other boat owners in neighbouring awkward marina berths which are tricky to get into, and may reduce some unfortunate mishaps. However, i would hate to see a situation where the final certificate is unachievable to the less confident newbie, after all we were all beginners once.

Kawasaki is offline Registered User

Not heard anything
    Can you give us a clue as to the source of this information?
    IE, was it from anyone/anwhere 'official' like?
    Or a Baroom laywer type.

My attitude is Education not Compulsion.