Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Charging Gel Batteries - 220v/Alternator/Solar Considerations

I've just discovered that I can get hold of Exide Gel batteries. I've never used gel before and I'm keen to entertain them as an option. However I understand the dangers of frying them by over-charging. I need to get my head around four areas and am hoping someone could just confirm I have this right:

1. Mastervolt 12/40 240v mains charger
    My Mastervolt 12/40 mains charger has some jumpers I swap over to compensate for gel charging though it seems to group together gel/wet battery as one option, with the other two being 'forced float' and 'diode compensation'. The instruction manual says 'by removing the gel/wet battery jumper the output will be a constant 'trickle charge' voltage of 13.8v. I understand gel batteries are floated at a higher rate (13.8). So, assuming I find the following jumpers am I to remove the top one in the middle column?

2. Sterling Pro AltC Split Charger
    This is a simple rotary function switch I turn to 'gel. However it appears to split these into US Spec and EU Spec. What is this and how can I determine which the gels from India fall in to?

Also, I now have a sealed lead-acid starter battery and gel house. Does this unit handle the different batteries?

3. Balmar Alternator Regulator
    I've yet to purchase this but I am sure I'm able to set the paramters for gel ok.

4. Steca PR 2020 Solar Regulator
    I have http://www.stecasolar.com/index.php?Steca_PR_10_30_enas my solar regulator and there is an option to set this for 'gel', so I'm hoping I'm ok here.

Are there any other considerations I have forgotten?