Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    xeitosaphil's Avatar
    xeitosaphil is offline Registered User
    Location : paignton south devon uk
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    635

    Default Plastimo Tide Clock?

    Hi Just acquired a Plastimo Tide clock, but it didn't come with any operating / setting instruuctions?

    Has anybody had one of these, and knows how to set it? or even better has a set of instructions for the knobs on the back of the clock?

    There are two hands which you must be able to zero, and set some how, other than just taking the battery out?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Hi - I'd expect it to be like a clock without a minute hand.

    One hand will be for 'seconds' which more or less shows the clock is working.

    The 'hour' hand must have an adjuster, presumably fairly close to where you'd put the battery.

    Anyway - that's how mine works.

    When attached to the bulkhead, the adjuster is not accessible. Brilliant. However, it is occasionally quite accurate .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    15,807

    Default

    Just set the hour hand to high tide when it actually is high tide at the port you want it to read for. Accuracy varies across the lunar cycle up to about +/- 1 hour so only a rough guide.
    Warning - Internet forums may contain nuts

  4. #4
    VicS is offline Registered User
    Location : Home: Kent. Boat: Chichester
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    30,951

    Default

    Because the tides are slightly affected by the sun as well as by the moon the clock should be set at high tide on the day of a full moon ( or a new moon) The sun and moon are in line on those days so the sun is having no modifying effect on the time of the tides.

    It'll be a bit fast when the sun is delaying the time of high water and a bit slow when the sun makes HW a bit early.
    On average it will be correct
    Last edited by VicS; 23-04-12 at 20:03.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,292

    Default

    Take the battery out, then it will be spot on twice a day.
    On the internet no one knows you are a donkey.

  6. #6
    colvic987 is offline Registered User
    Location : north west england
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,384

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by guernseyman View Post
    Take the battery out, then it will be spot on twice a day.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    14,433

    Default

    Mine without fail gets the correct high tide for somewhere ,its just not for where I set it !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by guernseyman View Post
    Take the battery out, then it will be spot on twice a day.
    +1

  9. #9
    VicS is offline Registered User
    Location : Home: Kent. Boat: Chichester
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    30,951

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by guernseyman View Post
    Take the battery out, then it will be spot on twice a day.
    Not quite twice a day. Twice approx every 26 hours

  10. #10
    xeitosaphil's Avatar
    xeitosaphil is offline Registered User
    Location : paignton south devon uk
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    635

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys and gals , now sorted, at least it will be right at least twice a day?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •