Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Westwick - Essex
    Posts
    67

    Default Raymarine ST60 Tridata - Speed Log Problem.

    Hi I am hoping someone can advise.
    I have a new to me Raymarine ST60 Tridata and the displayed speed is approximately half of the GPS speed despite a spotless clean Transducer.
    The Depth and Sea Temperature all looks o/k.
    Transducer you say and I would tend to agree but I have mixed test results which is confusing.
    I am assuming the Transducer is an M78712 although I cannot confirm this, all the connections look o/k! Spinning the paddlewheel by hand and I get a reading on the display – however the Raymarine test instructs you to connect a multimeter between the removed green and shield connectors and slowly rotate the paddle wheel. You should get an open and closed circuit for each quarter turn – I get nothing!!
    I can get a replacement Transducer which is the E26031 I believe, but just wondered if it was a waste of time giving the test results?
    Has anybody had similar problems or should I upgrade the whole unit?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cumbria; U.K.
    Posts
    2,800

    Default Re: Raymarine ST60 Tridata - Speed Log Problem.

    Obvious question, but have you calibrated the speed readout against the GPS as described in the manual?
    Can't suggest a reason for the lack of pulses when you connect a multimeter, but it must be outputting something to get a reading at all.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    UK East Coast
    Posts
    28,499

    Default Re: Raymarine ST60 Tridata - Speed Log Problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by moresparks View Post
    Spinning the paddlewheel by hand and I get a reading on the display – however the Raymarine test instructs you to connect a multimeter between the removed green and shield connectors and slowly rotate the paddle wheel. You should get an open and closed circuit for each quarter turn – I get nothing!!
    Did you try this with the other transducer wires still connected to the power source?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Westwick - Essex
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: Raymarine ST60 Tridata - Speed Log Problem.

    Many thanks for your speedy responses.

    I must confess I have tried calibrating but without success – the Speed is so far out the increment values have little effect.

    “Did you try this with the other transducer wires still connected to the power source?”
    I must confess all other transducer wires were connected at that time – that is something I could try.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: Raymarine ST60 Tridata - Speed Log Problem.

    Quote Originally Posted by moresparks View Post
    Many thanks for your speedy responses.

    I must confess I have tried calibrating but without success – the Speed is so far out the increment values have little effect.

    “Did you try this with the other transducer wires still connected to the power source?”
    I must confess all other transducer wires were connected at that time – that is something I could try.
    Sounds like a failure of the paddle wheel sensor - which is also measuring speed through water - not SOG which is provided by GPS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: Raymarine ST60 Tridata - Speed Log Problem.

    Had a similar problem with a NASA unit and found that the paddle wheel should have had two magnets attached. One was missing. Might be the same with your unit?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Find Boats For Sale

to
to