Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Quick poll

Default Quick poll

On a scale of 1-10 just how stupid is it for me to be very seriously considering buying a 30-40 foot boat to sail off into the sunset - single handed?
    For a little further information, I am fast approaching 55 years old and will therefore have access to a small private pension that with drawdown (ie using up the capital for say 20 years) will allow me to both purchase a vessel and provide maybe 1000 each month to run it and live on.
    I have some sailing experience but not a single piece of paper to my name. I dinghy sailed and raced to a reasonable level as a teenager and beyond. Then migrated to racing IOC yachts mostly coastal with a few longer trips. All of this was 20 years ago and apart from windsurfing and some motorboats I have not been afloat much in a long time.
    Thoughts are to try and find something reasonable at the 20-35K level allowing a few K to tidy up. Hopefully getting something over the winter with a view to actually departing these shores in the latter part of next year, after a few shakedown cruises.
    Hopefully head South initially but then picking up the trades and heading West (for who knows where).
    Would like genuine answers and interested in the scoring !

Default Re: Quick poll

Not stupid at all so my score will be zero. If you really want to do then just get on with it. You may not get another chance as old age and health issues approach. I don't know anything about your fallback arrangements in the UK after you've finished cruising but I assume you have thought this through already.
    Do it now before it's too late.

What was that Mark Twain quote about only regretting what you don't do.......

Sounds like one of the best ideas you'll ever have

Winter in Falmouth, summer on board Rampage.