Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Looking out of the window
    Posts
    13,585

    Default Ray marine ST60 tridata help - speed readout giving random numbers

    So the boat came fitted with an early (1996) ST40 bidata.
    Separate transponders and the depth has never worked.

    Decided to buy new transponder and ST60 tri to replace.
    Depth now works.

    Speed though just shows 655knts even with the transponder disconnected.
    Did a reset to factory settings and with the unit in repeater mode the speed shows ---- with nothing attached, as I would expect.

    Make it back to master unit for speed and hey presto we are setting world records on the berth.
    I know the speed transponder works with the ST40. I think the ST60 is ok as it works on other settings.
    The speed transducer doesn't have the temp sender so only 3 wires not 5, but since the fault occours when no wires are connected I can't see that this is the cause.

    Anyone able to suggest what might be up?
    Free supercharging Tesla referral code http://ts.la/jez9763

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    4,375

    Default Re: Ray marine ST60 tridata help - speed readout giving random numbers

    I understand Raymarine to have a really good tech help line?
    See the rainbow not the rain

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    557

    Default Re: Ray marine ST60 tridata help - speed readout giving random numbers

    I seem to remember you need a resistor in place of the missing temperature sensor or the ST60 gets unhappy. Possibly 10k, i am sure there was a thread in the pbo forum.

    Maybe someone will remember.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Looking out of the window
    Posts
    13,585

    Default Re: Ray marine ST60 tridata help - speed readout giving random numbers

    Quote Originally Posted by Forty_Two View Post
    I seem to remember you need a resistor in place of the missing temperature sensor or the ST60 gets unhappy. Possibly 10k, i am sure there was a thread in the pbo forum.

    Maybe someone will remember.
    That seems to make sense. I'll dig around in pbo
    Free supercharging Tesla referral code http://ts.la/jez9763

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Live London
    Posts
    2,825

    Default Re: Ray marine ST60 tridata help - speed readout giving random numbers

    No idea if tho will help but ...

    I tried to calibrate my speed. Followed manual. No dice. Read more and only the primary instrument can calibrate - so if set to secondary the speed is sent by the primary.

    If it is the secondary one then maybe he sea talk connections are dirty etc giving a resistance that is being mid read at the secondary ?

    Other option could be to swap the primary and secondary over. Maybe the unit is happier being primary ?
    Last edited by jrudge; 23-04-18 at 08:43.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    314

    Default Re: Ray marine ST60 tridata help - speed readout giving random numbers

    Quote Originally Posted by Forty_Two View Post
    I seem to remember you need a resistor in place of the missing temperature sensor or the ST60 gets unhappy. Possibly 10k, i am sure there was a thread in the pbo forum.

    Maybe someone will remember.
    Never heard of this and I've had just speed and depth working fine on an ST60. It sounds like a fault with the ST60 to be honest.

    Does the ST60 display SOG via Seatalk correctly?

    I have a service manual I can email which gives you on-board diagnostics to run if you're stuck.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest YBW News

Find Boats For Sale

to
to