Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My Introduction

Default My Introduction

Hello,
    I'm fairly new to outboards but this forum has been helpful in figuring out my 2017-build Suzuki DF2.5S. It's only seen freshwater since new but I have a bear of a time getting it started...sometimes. I'm in the northeast US and it's a lake engine on the back of my older Coleman Scanoe and when it runs, it's a pleasure to operate. When it doesn't, I want to throw it into the water. I'm reading up on some threads now and will probably have some questions for the more experienced.
    Thanks in advance.

Default Re: My Introduction

Welcome to the forum, I hope you find it as useful as I have over the years.

There are really only two things to remember with the 2.5 Suzuki. In-line fuel filter needs to be inserted just before carb and carb needs to be drained through the drain valve before engine is left unused for more than a week or two.

Richard

Well, this engine has me beat. Itís a fuel starvation issue. New spark plug, I tested the resistance and ground and when I plug it in un-seated in the cylinder I can feel the impulse and the air cleaner is unobstructed.

I removed the carb and the bowl was clean (no sediment) and the float moved freely. I removed the #62 screw and the hole was clear and the jet/holes were clean. The intake was like new. I always used ethanol-free fuel for the 8 hours I ran it and if I suck/blow on the fuel lines they are unobstructed. What am I missing? Is there a way I can test the fuel pump? I see the intake and outflow and theyíre clean and unobstructed but donít know what the third line is for.

I suppose it could also be a kill switch failure but I donít know how to test that. What has me puzzled is how it ran so well in July and I canít even get it to start now.

Any leads or ideas would be greatfully appreciated.