Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Yikes! Any one know what to do here? Fibreglass structural problem under mast

Ok I've got this 50y/o boat at a steal, but it's in a pretty bad way, and it's my first fiberglass boat, so I'm not experienced with the material.

It's got a deck stepped mast, which looks like its had a fold at some point, as it's been heavily reinforced from underneath, with beams and steel angles, bolted directly into the port and starboard ply bulkheads, which make up the forward lockers (right hand photo).

The problem is, these ply bulkheads do not meet the floor themselves, (they terminate at a thinnish fibreglass liner layer, approximately 12inches tall from the floor), and the forces from this reinforcement have obviously now been transferred straight down the bulkhead, (middle photo) and look like they've deformed the bottom fibreglass liner into which the bulkheads mount (left hand photo, with straight edge held in comparison, to demonstrate deformation). This deformation is on both port and starboard sides.

Any ideas to sort this, other than entirely stripping out the cabin, to get to and reinforce the fibreglass underneath the ply bulkheads...? (Or more likely just ripping the whole liner out and rebuilding the whole structure of the cabin, using wood instead....)

Thanks for your knowledgable advice, as ever...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by yourmomm; 19-10-18 at 08:45.
    if only i could afford the BBA course.....

Default Re: Yikes! Any one know what to do here? Fibreglass structural problem under mast

Is the first picture upside down? Of the floor?

The structural timbers look OK,
    If I'd wanted to live in a Banana Republic I'd have gone to South America.

Default Re: Yikes! Any one know what to do here? Fibreglass structural problem under mast