Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234567813 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 159
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Conwy
    Posts
    3,648

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    There is no way anybody in my crew is going to be able to stand in my engine bay to take these tests so after the expense of doing it I may as well make it a permanent fixture

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Volos-Athens
    Posts
    4,677

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    Quote Originally Posted by BruceK View Post
    There is no way anybody in my crew is going to be able to stand in my engine bay to take these tests so after the expense of doing it I may as well make it a permanent fixture
    true, but you could buy the adapters (cannot imagine spending more than 10quid on them!) 10m of what 5-6mm vacum hose, a 3way valve and an el cheapo analogue boost gauge, or get a WIKA for another 20quid. You route the pipes to a suitable locker next to your helm, and when you want to test things bring it up get one of the crew to hold the gauge and you do the testing...
    No senders, no wiring, no holes in the dash. Obviously you don't unplug any of these pipes else some of the boost will escape through that but you'll hear it
    TBH, it's boring to just look at them gauges stuck somewhere be it zero or 2bar, no serious variations (at least in my case) nothing! It's a great debug tool though.

    V.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Conwy
    Posts
    3,648

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    I bought the bloody things already. Not make me feel worse about it. I feel like a bluearsed fly chasing my tail on this one and all I ever asked was can the SC's be muffled and here we are. Faffing with turbo's. It's not like the rest of my boat isn't in a zillion pieces with all the other projects going on.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Isle of Man
    Posts
    1,847

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    Well this will make you really sick....had a genius idea.

    Fit the m18 to 1/8npt adapter.

    Get 2 x 1/8npt tyre valves (brass....1.79)

    Get Bluetooth tyre pressure monitor sensors and stick them on the tyre valves.

    If the sensors can handle life on a wheel, I’m sure they’ll be ok sat on an engine!

    No wiring, can use an app or solar powered supply display or wire in a small display. Total cost under 50.

    Gonna give it a go anyway!

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Conwy
    Posts
    3,648

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    Thanks Paul. I feel immensely better now. I only forked out 200 thinking bargain after seeing Volvo prices. Ah well, I'll have forgotten this time next month. I still got a bargain though, relatively speaking

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Isle of Man
    Posts
    1,847

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    Let’s see if my idea works yet!

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Bucks & St Raphael SoF
    Posts
    1,346

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    That does seem like a genius idea. I too have been wrestling with an easy solution to get boost readings on the flybridge

    This looks interesting - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Motorcycl....c100005.m1851

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,148

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    Don't the tyre pressure monitors need the the rotation of the wheel to activate them? Ie they only start transmitting when they detect some rotation.

    Maybe a vibrating engine will also activate them?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Isle of Man
    Posts
    1,847

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    Quote Originally Posted by markc View Post
    That does seem like a genius idea. I too have been wrestling with an easy solution to get boost readings on the flybridge

    This looks interesting - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Motorcycl....c100005.m1851
    That’s the exact one I bought!

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Isle of Man
    Posts
    1,847

    Default Re: Fitting Charge Pressure Guage kit to KAD42

    Quote Originally Posted by julians View Post
    Don't the tyre pressure monitors need the the rotation of the wheel to activate them? Ie they only start transmitting when they detect some rotation.

    Maybe a vibrating engine will also activate them?

    Bugger.....You could well be right there.

    It was all going so well!

Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234567813 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest YBW News

Find Boats For Sale

to
to