Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Complete newbie in need of advice

Hi girls & guys, I have just bought my first boat and have very little experience. Probably unwisely I did not have a survey done before I purchased. What I would like is a sort of MOT for boats. Someone who knows what they are looking for to advise what is needed to be done to the boat. I would like to do as much of this work required myself so I can learn as much as possible. The boat is moored at Dover Marina at the moment. Does anyone know a company or individual local who could do this for me? Thanks in advance for any help you can offer on this (and the many more questions I will need help with in the near future).

Default Re: Complete newbie in need of advice

If you want to know what if anything is wrong with the boat? Then as a complete newbie having it surveyed is arguably the best route, this will also give you a to do list. It won’t be cheap! IIRC there’s a good boat builders at Wellington dock or ask in Sharp &Enright the marine chandlers for advice . Good luck

John

A very muchless expensive option is to pay a boatbuilder to inspect the boat and give you his opinion. A full survey is just that, checking the condition of everything. A boatbuilder will sim0ly take a look and advise you what he would do if he was asked to make it seaworthy. A Surveyors job is to report on every aspect, with liability if he misses anything. The boat builder at perhaps a quarter the cost of a full survey simply gives a professional opinion and advice, but there's little comeback if he did miss anything, which is unlikely if you get a good man!
    Is Conservation for wildlife or conservationists?
    http://boatownersresponse.org.uk

M&P Marine services is the local boat repair firm if you want to go down that route rather than a formal survey and have a good reputation.