Default Volvo Engineer needed !

Hi All !
    Our boat is in Cardiff Marina. We've got a problem with our ancient Volvo MS2 gearbox where it only engages forward and reverse gears at very high revs. I suspect some sort of 'cone' or 'clutch' issue; but i'm no expert. Can anyone recommend an engineer in the area who might be able to help us and fix it ? Thanks !

Default Re: Volvo Engineer needed !

Quote Originally Posted by robgoddard View Post
    Hi All !
    Our boat is in Cardiff Marina. We've got a problem with our ancient Volvo MS2 gearbox where it only engages forward and reverse gears at very high revs. I suspect some sort of 'cone' or 'clutch' issue; but i'm no expert. Can anyone recommend an engineer in the area who might be able to help us and fix it ? Thanks !
    I use Gareth Davies, of Davies Marine. Set up on his own after working for big Cardiff operation.

Had always been good for me, pretty well experienced so has probably worked on Volvo’s.

PM me for phone number if you need it.

+1 for Gareth. But he's pretty busy at the moment. Have you tried changing the oil?

Alan from SOS Boat Services might be able to help... http://www.sosboatservices.co.uk/
    YouTube: Gorjus Boating
    Boat: Sealine 195

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll give them a try. Yes; I tried changing the oil in the hope of an easy / quick / cheap fix, but no change. So I'm bracing myself !

Have you tried disconnecting the cable from the side of the box and moving the selector lever manually whilst the engine is idling? The lever has a positive stop when at the correct position.

Steve