Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Solo vs. Laser dinghy

I am new to dinghy sailing, and I am currently sailing my club Lasers. I am thinking about getting one for myself, but some people in my club suggested I should try Solo - we have large Solo fleet. I am happy with Laser, but not completely closed to the idea. I am looking for your opinions - ideally from someone who sailed both dinghies.

Default Re: Solo vs. Laser dinghy

You are in a fortunate position in having a large Solo fleet as well as access to Lasers. Speak to some of the Solo sailors and see if anyone will let you have a go. You'll get a much better idea by trying the boat yourself than by asking on here.

FWIW I sail a Laser and find it more comfortable to sail and easier to right than a Solo but I'm aware that others hold opposite views.

Laser significantly faster, put a relatively cheap new sail on an old hull and you are as 99.9% as fast as a new boat, though for serious racing the sails don't last that long. Solo more technical, lots of minor variations.

I've given up dinghies, but my favourite just for fun boats were Lasers, once I'd learnt how to do downwind and gybe them in a strong wind without capsizing (mostly anyway).