Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default First boat options, newbie seeking a little guidance.

Hello all,

I'm looking to get into sailing as a family activity - nothing too adventurous, just some nice day trips learning to handle a boat on a Scottish Loch. The plan is to get a mooring there.

There are two boats which have caught my eye, both around £3000, which from what I have read are designed to be easy to sail, offer decent accommodation, and look like they would fit the bill for family use. I'm also quite keen to have an outboard motor rather than an inboard, I've seen the bills a colleague had to get a Mercruiser engine fettled and I could do without that hassle.

As a newbie I'd really value some opinions from those 'in the know' about which (or neither) of these boats would be a good buy.

The first one is a Folksong 25, it looks like it has had a lot of work done in 2018 to get it to a good standard, and I like the Folkboat lines. The colours are a bit, erm, 'Scandinavian' (I suspect you transport it as a flatpack and it comes with meatballs and Dime bars) but it could do the trick nicely.
    https://yachts.apolloduck.com/boat/folksong-25/607...

The second is an Etap 22, which looks a bit broader and like it may be a bit more spacious. From reading the advert I suspect it is a bit less 'fettled' than the Folksong, but I've read a lot of good things about the model, it looks more convenient as it is a trailer sailer (I plan to get a mooring for it but being able to tow it places myself gives some extra flexibility if I want to relocate), and from the photos the interior looks to have a bit more space. I also like the safety rails right the way round the perimeter, we could fit baby netting to those quite easily for a bit of added safety.
    https://www.gumtree.com/p/boats-kayaks-jet-skis/et...

Any thoughts/suggestions much appreciated!

Default Re: First boat options, newbie seeking a little guidance.