Page 1 of 7 123456 ... LastLast

Default Single handed anchoring without windlass - advice for novice

As an anchoring novice, I am wondering how practical it would be to drop and weigh anchor single-handed without a windlass. The boat is a Westerly Centaur.
    Any advice and practical tips would be very welcome, especially in relation to weighing anchor which I'm guessing will be more difficult.
    I currently have a danforth, but following helpful advice here I'm planning to invest in a new generation anchor soon.
    My chain is currently marked in one metre intervals.
    Assuming I'll need to flake out the required length on deck before dropping, how do I avoid damaging the deck?
    Any advice will be gratefully received.

Default Re: Single handed anchoring without windlass - advice for novice

Ultimately it all boils down to the weight of anchor, chain and how deep you're anchoring in.

With a 5kg anchor and 6mm chain you'll be fine. With a 25kg anchor and 10mm chain like I have, you can forget manual anchoring.

Richard

Hello

I find it quite simple. Flake out the chain along the deck, I've yet to see a chain damage a deck, to the required scope, decide where you want to anchor, go to that position, let the hook down until you feel the bottom and drift back on the tide with the engine in neutral, letting the chain our hand over hand, once the boat stops wander back to the cockpit and engage reverse to dig the hook in.

When single handed I add a bit more scope than is usual. It is lifting the hook out of the mud that is a bit more fun and well worth considering a tripping line. To weigh anchor reverse the process, drive up to the tripping line, move to the foredeck and pull, the tripping line is there to help if nessary.
    Last edited by Sandy; 30-06-19 at 21:35.
    Cynical Scottish almost retired engineer.
    Gib'Sea 96 owner

Quote Originally Posted by richard77777 View Post