Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Default Advice about my anchor and chain please - see photos

Hello all me again I have a question about my anchor and chain and I would be grateful for some assistance please.
    I have a 30ft 4 tonne sailing yacht and I am very new to both sailing and boat ownership.
    I have 40 metres of 8mm chain. The chain is joined in 2 places so it seems to be different batches - the amount of rust varies. I also have a 9kg anchor which i understand to be a CQR anchor- it has 'HKG' marked on it as well.

I suppose my question is does any of the chain look dodgy ? I have read about getting the chain re galvanized. Does mine looks like it needs done ? I've take photos of the worst bits. A lot of it looks okay.

Also if anyone would like to comment on the suitability of the anchor that would be useful. My boat will only ever be used in the west coast of scotland. I have never anchored before but I know I will be more of an anchoring type of person than a marina person. When I get more confident and experienced sailing I suspect I will be doing it a lot. Therefore I wouldn't mind investing in some better equipment if it was worthwhile. But if my existing equipment is suitable then that's great.

I have read a lot about anchors on this forum and one that came up that seemed very good value is a kobra 2.

Thanks very much
    Douglas

20190715_110913.jpg20190715_110923.jpg20190715_110931.jpg20190715_111059.jpg20190715_111135.jpg20190715_110913.jpg20190715_110923.jpg20190715_110931.jpg20190715_111059.jpg20190715_111135.jpg

North Wales, sailing Aegean Sea or Menai Strait

Default Re: Advice about my anchor and chain please - see photos