Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Classic live-aboard able to dry out.

Hi all, new member, first post.

I'm a professional motor-yachtie, recently taken up sailing. I'm researching the possibility of a live-aboard sailing yacht and have a few preferences. I would appreciate any advice/suggestions.

Looking at (but swayable):
    - Classic styling.
    - Wooden hull.
    - Coastal cruising.
    - Able to regularly dry out on sand (bilge keel?)
    - Able to sail alone.
    - Berth >4.
    - Up to 46 feet.

To get a bilge-keeled classic yacht, would I have to sacrifice massively on maneuverability?

Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks

Default Re: Classic live-aboard able to dry out.

Perhaps something by Morris Griffiths? Golden Hind? Triple keel,so drys out.

'Classic Boat' website - 'Boats for sale'.
    Last edited by Kingfisher 5; 09-08-19 at 13:47.

Quote Originally Posted by DownWest View Post
    Perhaps something by Morris Griffiths? Golden Hind? Triple keel,so drys out.
    That's some interesting further research thank you. I do love the stern overhang inherent to some classics, but there don't see to be any bilge keel options in this field.

Another question: Would a bilge keeler cope well drying out on sand/mud twice a day for 8 months of the year, or would that duration be too much stress for the hull?

Thanks again.

Look at the Wooden Ships brokerage, based in Devon.

How about a barge yacht with leeboards?

It might be difficult to find anything in the UK but I believe they are stil built in Holland.
    "Brexit: like watching a library being burned down by people who can't read"

Drying out level is a big ask, it cuts down your choices by about 95%, how about legs?

Quote Originally Posted by Ohlin Karcher View Post
    Drying out level is a big ask, it cuts down your choices by about 95%, how about legs?