Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,149

    Default Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    I am reminded of Apollo 13 where he tied main Bat A to Bat B

    On my sealine S24 like many older boats it has a battery switch to connect the House Battery (1 No) to the starter Battery (1 No) should the starter Battery fail.


    Also like many older boats this switch does not work and I suspect it has never been used.


    I was wondering if I should replace the kit to make this work (not cheap) or just carry a set of jump leads if it should ever happen


    Your thoughts what would you do

    Dennis
    Only ever look down on a person when you are bending over to help them up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,309

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    Replace the switch,my logic being that sods law dictates that when you need to connect the batteries together will be at the worst possible time and you want want to be fannying around getting jump leads out, connecting them up etc, you would much rather just flick a switch.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    boat conwy
    Posts
    3,816

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigplumbs View Post
    I am reminded of Apollo 13 where he tied main Bat A to Bat B

    On my sealine S24 like many older boats it has a battery switch to connect the House Battery (1 No) to the starter Battery (1 No) should the starter Battery fail.


    Also like many older boats this switch does not work and I suspect it has never been used.


    I was wondering if I should replace the kit to make this work (not cheap) or just carry a set of jump leads if it should ever happen


    Your thoughts what would you do

    Dennis
    Well jump leads are handy as u could get a jump from another vessel , but with gas and petrol on board using jumps could be dangerous. Also if the switch has failed one way, it is telling you it could fail the other wa ,so replace.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Thames & Kennet Marina
    Posts
    141

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    On my S24 ('97/'98) I have the switch on the dash, but rather than a case of it just not working, there's no cross-over hardware in place at all; from memory there's not even any fuse for it at the isolation switches (low, starboard in cockpit).

    I've opted for the hi-tech jump leads option rather than wiring in the system from scratch.

    I think I'm about to repurpose the switch for a dashboard fan.

    james

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Live London
    Posts
    3,844

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    I have used mine for real once when the boat came out of the yard and a battery was flat

    For me accessing the batteries is probably 30 min work. If yours are accessible easily a lead is prob fine. If not I would fix it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,149

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    Quote Originally Posted by jrudge View Post
    I have used mine for real once when the boat came out of the yard and a battery was flat

    For me accessing the batteries is probably 30 min work. If yours are accessible easily a lead is prob fine. If not I would fix it
    My Batteries are accessible in under 5 mins and I also don't think I have the hardware beyond the switch

    Jump leads it will be kept on board. Could also help someone else out with them which is another Bonus
    Only ever look down on a person when you are bending over to help them up.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Poole, Dorset
    Posts
    944

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    If I have understood correctly could you not install a regular 'bat 1', 'bat 2', 'both' and 'off' switch instead?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Farndon
    Posts
    3,061

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    I have witnessed a couple of occasions where jump leads came to the rescue.
    One was a Broom which despite having an on board generator needed a jump start (I guess the generator started from the engine start battery). He has since fitted a link switch.
    Another was a Sealine where the link switch didnít work.
    A reminder to me is to find some jump leads which I am sure I have somewhere....... or if not, just buy some to keep on the boat as they are not particularly expensive.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,149

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    Quote Originally Posted by dpb View Post
    If I have understood correctly could you not install a regular 'bat 1', 'bat 2', 'both' and 'off' switch instead?
    Could do that but it is another piece of work for me to do. I think the Jump leads option is actually more versatile

    Dennis
    Only ever look down on a person when you are bending over to help them up.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    boat conwy
    Posts
    3,816

    Default Re: Jump Leads or Battery Tie Switch

    Quote Originally Posted by MartynG View Post
    I have witnessed a couple of occasions where jump leads came to the rescue.
    One was a Broom which despite having an on board generator needed a jump start (I guess the generator started from the engine start battery). He has since fitted a link switch.
    Another was a Sealine where the link switch didnít work.
    A reminder to me is to find some jump leads which I am sure I have somewhere....... or if not, just buy some to keep on the boat as they are not particularly expensive.
    The not particularly expensive ones donít work when you need them ,also try and keep them n air tight bag.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest YBW News

Find Boats For Sale

to
to