Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Poole to gosport marina

Hi there im new to the forum.and after a bit of advice.
    Ive been boating for a few years now in and around the solent ,ive recently brought a new boat a four winns 268, from poole. I need to get boat back to gosport marina but cost of having it transported back are crazy. So i want to bring it back myself in the water.
    I know this is A fairly easy route but as ive never been down that far i have no idea what to expect like sea conditions and stuff near Poole. I know this will depend on weather etc but the solent near gosport is still very do able in blowy conditions just dont know about poole end. And advice would be much appriciated.
    Thanks
    Steve

Default Re: Poole to gosport marina

Its a great trip. Pick a nice day, easy to do in one leg or take your time and stop for lunch in Yarmouth.

There are a few pot bouys around christchurch ledge area so be aware of the them .

Quite easy to hire a delivery skipper in Poole. That is what I did all those years ago. That first voyage is a happy memory.

Youíll have the weather behind you (most likely) which will make the trip more comfortable. Take the north channel into the Solent rather than the main channel unless itís really calm. Entrance to Portsmouth can get very busy so make sure you study where you need to be (or rather not be) as a small pleasure craft. Itís a good trip so enjoy it but do a passage plan as itís your first time.

Thanks for your replies!! The portsmouth end im fine with just never ventured that far down in previous boats. A delivery skipper is a great idea.thanks

Quote Originally Posted by jamie langstone View Post
    There are a few pot bouys around christchurch ledge area so be aware of the them .
    +1