View Poll Results: Would you use siganlk on a windows laptop

Voters
25. You may not vote on this poll
  • not interested really

    16 64.00%
  • yes but must be easy to install

    3 12.00%
  • yes, don't mind some command line in a terminal

    4 16.00%
  • using it already

    2 8.00%
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    5,082

    Default Re: Signalk - would you use it?

    Quote Originally Posted by JBJag27 View Post
    As I understand it the SigK server isn't a gateway, but handles the request/response for the json stuff. The gateway is the thing that homologates the nmea 0183/2000/seatalk etc data into json messages. Which might be a useful item. I would guess a pi would require additional hardware to handle multiple serial lines but I'm not a hardware person.
    If you scroll down to "Interfacing to Other Devices" here: http://signalk.org/installation.html
    you'll see the relevant info. It was always a normal thing to have the same box (e.g. raspberry pi) run all the bits but yes, additional hardware required (standard n2k interface being the actisense ngt-1)

    Regarding the ikommunicate, I don't own one but objectively it's not outrageous compared with DIY. By the time you've bought a pi and a power supply and an actisense ngt-1 and a couple of dodgy rs-232 converters you're nearly at the ikommunicate's price but you'll have a diy box with bits hanging off it and non-opt-isolated "0183" inputs. I think Digital Yacht did a pretty decent job of wrangling SignalK (and its developers) into a commercial proposition. The kickstarter campaign was a brilliant example of kickstarter's potential as a marketing tool rather than simply a funding mechanism
    Last edited by laika; 09-11-19 at 11:00. Reason: correcting autocorrect

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Bewdley, Worcs
    Posts
    535

    Default Re: Signalk - would you use it?

    Quote Originally Posted by GHA View Post
    Indeed! Bit lax on my part, online the word signalk has morphed a bit day to day to mean the signalk-server.
    Oh wait ... so you mean your question is not "runnign SignalK apps on a windows laptop" .. but running the SignalK server on windows?

    I better change my answer then, no one would want to do that, as most people need their SignalK server to be low power and reliable.

    Please take one off the "using it already" and add one to the "not even vaguely interested"
    Last edited by rszemeti; 09-11-19 at 11:03.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    5,082

    Default Re: Signalk - would you use it?

    Quote Originally Posted by rszemeti View Post
    From what I recall, OpenCPN uses SignalK as the source of all it's data, and any data source (be it NMEA serial or whatever) is aggregated into the SignalK server stream
    Being fed up with preceding everything with "Things may have changed but..." I just cloned the OpenCPN source and things haven't changed.

    OpenCPN uses NMEA 0183 as its input and for everything internally

    There was some talk a couple of years ago from the SignalK folks that it should be converted to SignalK but I don't see any progress there.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Boat (now back in) the Clyde
    Posts
    5,694

    Default Re: Signalk - would you use it?

    I no longer bother to take the laptop on board.
    When can access useful info via an App on Android and IOS then might start to be interested, as these are used extensivley on board (albeit already use Raymarine App for most data I currently need)

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    North West
    Posts
    576

    Default Re: Signalk - would you use it?

    Quote Originally Posted by laika View Post
    It was always a normal thing to have the same box (e.g. raspberry pi) run all the bits but yes, additional hardware required (standard n2k interface being the actisense ngt-1)
    Yes, the dongles are effectively performing the "gateway" activity.

    Not knocking the idea, the current protocols all suck in one way or another, it's just too expensive for the likes of me to mess about with for fun, so I'm out.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    On a boat
    Posts
    483

    Default Re: Signalk - would you use it?

    Quote Originally Posted by northwind View Post
    As it stands it is very much geeky. The "whats in it for me" factor is very low for most people.
    .
    Probably on this forum, but on a cruising forum with fill-time liveaboards you'd get a very opinion. Here, people are probably just more interested in checking if their boat is ok on their swinging mooring

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    38,752

    Default Re: Signalk - would you use it?

    Having been on a boat where a very flash networked system started telling us random nonsense, I would be quite keen to avoid having such a system.

    One of my metrics is to ask myself whether I could lend the boat to any reasonably competent yotter without having to spend hours lecturing them on the foibles of the electrics, instruments or plumbing.
    My interest in keeping up to speed with ever more complex ways of connecting stuff together declined when I stopped getting paid for it.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Latest YBW News

Find Boats For Sale

to
to