Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rudder Repair

Default Rudder Repair

Hello all,
    Some help with repairing the transom hung rudder on my Westerly Griffon please.
    The bottom edge has picked up a few scrapes and general wear from sitting on my drying mooring. Nothing major and it seems sound. I just want to tidy it up and give a bit of reinforcement.
    Two methods I'm thinking of: some filler to fair it then polyester resin and csm or cloth? Not sure what to finish this with, if anything?
    Epoxy (west) thickened as a filler, then a few coats of epoxy as a surface layer.
    Both followed by antifouling as usual.
    I've never used epoxy before, can someone help with the West product numbers?
    Thanks

Default Re: Rudder Repair

I would get it as dry as possible, then coat and fair with epoxy and glass.Glass tape, or tape chopped into 5 to 10mm strands as a filler paste.

Should have said, the rudder is off the boat and in my nice dry garage!

Quote Originally Posted by alla_breve View Post
    Hello all,
    Some help with repairing the transom hung rudder on my Westerly Griffon please.
    The bottom edge has picked up a few scrapes and general wear from sitting on my drying mooring. Nothing major and it seems sound. I just want to tidy it up and give a bit of reinforcement.
    Two methods I'm thinking of: some filler to fair it then polyester resin and csm or cloth? Not sure what to finish this with, if anything?
    Epoxy (west) thickened as a filler, then a few coats of epoxy as a surface layer.
    Both followed by antifouling as usual.
    I've never used epoxy before, can someone help with the West product numbers?
    Thanks
    Best see the West System website https://www.westsystem.com/products/ If you are intending to use epoxy Personally I would use polyester for a job like this. Epoxy for any jobs that require a structural strength bond with the original.