Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: RN ship visits

Default RN ship visits

Gone are Navy Days unfortunately.

I would like to encourage my grandson in his (declared) desire to join the Royal Navy.

Back in the old days, when I was a Sea Cadet officer and when I had contracts with various MOD departments and contacts with various RN officers, I managed to arrange visits occasionally. Memorable were to submarines (alongside) and even at sea during contractors proving trials on HMS Gloucester.

Those days are past.

Anyone know if it is still possible to make ship visits?

I know the Belfast and the Dolphin museum are a possibility but a serving vessel would be more appropriate.

I do have an ex SAS friend who could enlighten him about his opinions as a Marine.
    Last edited by Graham_Wright; 11-11-19 at 14:21.
    I'd rather be naked
    www.mastaclimba.com

East coast UK. Mostly. Sometimes the Philippines

Default Re: RN ship visits

I have an old friend who as a Sea Cadet was flown to join HMS Belfast on her last passage back from Gibraltar. He went on to become a reactor officer on the first generation of nuclear submarines.

Such a thing would be unthinkable now.

An active duty Royal Navy warship laying on a show is far more impressive than any museum.

My two sons each joined the Sea Cadets at 11 and went through to 18. Since they are seven years apart that makes 16 years with a child in the Sea Cadets - in an active and well run unit. I recall one ship visit in that time.

I suppose there are simply not enough ships now.
    Last edited by Kukri; 11-11-19 at 14:31.

How about contacting the local Army, Navy and RAF recruitment office?

There is a chap at work applying to RFA, yes they do go through the same recruitment office, who said they are very helpful.
    Cynical Scottish very nearly retired engineer who sails a Gib'Sea 96.

Quote Originally Posted by Graham_Wright View Post