Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Default Battery charger - how much shore power to keep charged

For those of you who don't know already I'm not very tech savvy so apologies in advance. I've volunteered to keep an eye on a boat in the marina here for another Paddy who won't be back again until the spring. My duties are simple enough to run the engines every few weeks and top up the shore power credit if needed. The shore power is connected 24/7 to keep the batteries charged but everything else is switched off at the breakers. Checking the shore power meter it appears to be using 1.5Kw per day. Is that excessive just for battery charging with no draw on the batteries?

Default Re: Battery charger - how much shore power to keep charged

That is huge - over 110 Amp hours.

I can put in a maximum of about 12 amp hours a day via a small solar panel and it’s much more than adequate and has the battery charged by mid morning.

Something is seriously awry - either there is a huge load using power on the boat, the meter is very wrong or you are reading the meter wrongly.

Is somebody using your electric point for free?
    Cynical Scottish very nearly retired engineer who sails a Gib'Sea 96.

Quote Originally Posted by Irish Rover View Post
    For those of you who don't know already I'm not very tech savvy so apologies in advance. I've volunteered to keep an eye on a boat in the marina here for another Paddy who won't be back again until the spring. My duties are simple enough to run the engines every few weeks and top up the shore power credit if needed. The shore power is connected 24/7 to keep the batteries charged but everything else is switched off at the breakers. Checking the shore power meter it appears to be using 1.5Kw per day. Is that excessive just for battery charging with no draw on the batteries?
    I never leave a charger on when away from the boat, if its switched off if cant go duff & boil the batteries or kill its self