Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Recommendations for ideal boat please.

Hi all,
    Could you help out an almost complete beginner please?
    Previously we have owned motor homes and enjoyed our trips away. However we have noted two problems. The first is living on Guernsey we can only manage 4 weeks away a year, the rest of the time the motorhome quietly rusts away. The second is the bad attitude of our environment dept to motorhomes.
    This has prompted us to look at boating as a much better alternative for us. I mucked about in fishing boats when I was younger but have done nothing since. We want to do inter island trips initially then later the French and English coasts.
    My research suggests a fairline targa 27 at 20000 to 30000 GBP would be ideal for us due to its seaworthiness. Can anybody suggest something else and advise of unseen pitfalls?
    ps. I am doing the RYA courses.

hlb is offline Registered User

Default Re: Recommendations for ideal boat please.

Well the boat is still going to rust away the other 48 weeks. Cant see it's worth bothering, less you find more time!!

Sorry Haydn, should have made myself clearer. Being on Guernsey our travel options are limited.The Island is roughly 8 x 4 miles. The motorhome has to be booked on a ferry to get to uk or france. Or stored in france (still a hassle to get there).
    The idea of the boat is after a crappy week at work we would be able to climb aboard and be cruising at the drop of a hat. So the boat would get far more use than the motorhome.
    ......................didn't think GRP rusted!!!!

Advice on ideal boat. Try out lots of boats first. You can probably get lots of trips if you ask nicely at local marina. Set aside another 15% of budget for buying all the other stuff you'll need and maintenance in first year. Set aside budget in following years for maintenance and other purchases.