Trophies handed out at Cowes Royal Yacht Squadron ceremony

The prize-giving for the IRC Solent Series 2007 was held as the Royal Yacht Squadron in Cowes on Saturday (October 27).

There were a wide range of yacht designs scoring podium places in each class, indicating the success of IRC as a rating system that delivers good quality racing to differing craft.

The overall IRC Solent Series Champion was Michael Tattersall (X-99 Electra) who also landed the Class 4 trophy.

The Class winners were:

Class 1: Koko Kai, Kristin Pagano
Class 2: Cajou, Mark Chatfield
Class 3: Extra Djinn, Neville Hodkin
Class 4: Electra, Michael Tattersall
Class 5: The Flying Fish, Kathy & Rupert Smalley

Following on from the demise of the old Solent Points Series in the 1990s, the IRC Solent Series was introduced by the Solent Cruising and Racing Association (SCRA) to provide a co-ordinated series of events running through most of the season, producing summer series class and overall champions, taking place after the Spring Series and before the Winter Series. Race days are run by seven different clubs from May to September and provide a variety of competition for the competitors, ranging from round-the-cans to “passage”-style racing.

After the welcome by RYS Vice-Commodore Ian Laing, who also presented the prizes, Peter Bateson, the Solent Series co-ordinator, noted that the 2007 Series had been very much enjoyed by all those taking part, and said that arrangements for the 2008 Series would be announced shortly.

Further details about the SCRA click here .